Towing Performance

music

I have recently started thinking about whether I should do some modifications to what I have or just bite the bullet and upgrade to a NHT pkg. I'm really trying to avoid a 2500HD, since that's a bit overkill for my limited need. There's some serious $ for moving to a new NHT, and being a bit on the practical side, if I can get the 5.3 to pull smoothly for 99% of my towing, then I really can't justify it. We only tow on occasion, with one long trip per year. The stock 5.3/4-spd/3.73 is doing well and only needs 2nd for "longer, steeper" hills around here. We are planning a trip out west sometime, so that's more of where my concern lies. The occasional 3600 rpm @ 55 mph pulling a grade is fine, but if I were doing it all day in a 40 mph headwind in the plains, then that would be a different story. I have little experience "out west"... but I've heard some stories and have been caught in some strong wind when driving a rental car in NV.

The total combined weight for the setup is ~13k lbs--being a camper, it's a wind sail (good slope on front helps). To me, this is right at the "tipping point" between the 5.3 and the 6.0 or 6.2 (with a 4-spd) for occassional use. I have no experience with the 6-spd. I bought the camper after the truck, and knew what I was doing, and that I would consider options after pulling for a while if needed. I really like my truck and, if I upgraded, would order the same config with the NHT pkg. The (far) more practical option is to keep my truck and either (or both):

- swap to 4.10 gears

- tune.

Again, I *really* like my truck and don't want to change for any other reason. The pulling power is adequate for everything I've tackled so far, but again, I don't have experience w/ high altitude or high wind conditions. If the 6L80 could be easily swapped in, then that would be a nice towing setup for this weight range (5.3/6-spd/3.73 and a tune...).

Thoughts/opinions appreciated...