Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Tach Stopped Working And Is Reading Wrong


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Gripenfelter

Gripenfelter

    Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 81 posts
  • Location:Winnipeg, Canada

Posted 28 August 2009 - 07:45 AM

2003 Yukon Denali

The tach sits at 2000 rpm when the truck is off and if I accelerate past 2000 it sometimes freezes at the higher rpm.

Sometimes I turn on the truck an it's sitiing at 4000 rpm and I accelerate normally and the gauge pegs out at 6000 rpm.

Bottom line: Gauge is always wrong.

I also noticed a similar problem with the volt meter as well. Sometimes shows 9 volts while my aftermarket one is showing 13.6 volts.

Do I need a new dash? Is there a cheap fix?
'93 383 Camaro Z28
'05 Pontiac GTO
'03 Yukon Denali (Wife's truck/tow vehicle)

Drive Run Idle Launch
Posted Image

#2 M. Cueva

M. Cueva

    M. Cueva

  • Tech Wiki Editor
  • 9,010 posts
  • Location:Austin Texas
  • Gender:Male
  • Drives:2006 Chevrolet Silverado

Posted 28 August 2009 - 08:15 AM

2003 Yukon Denali

The tach sits at 2000 rpm when the truck is off and if I accelerate past 2000 it sometimes freezes at the higher rpm.

Sometimes I turn on the truck an it's sitiing at 4000 rpm and I accelerate normally and the gauge pegs out at 6000 rpm.

Bottom line: Gauge is always wrong.

I also noticed a similar problem with the volt meter as well. Sometimes shows 9 volts while my aftermarket one is showing 13.6 volts.

Do I need a new dash? Is there a cheap fix?



possibly on the new dash...but if you can get the stepper motors fixed, it might be cheaper...

Slade_zpsfd1fdb0c.jpg

My Truck:
2006 Silverado Crew Cab with the 4.8 Vortec
See my website for Customizations/Upgrades: Silverado Upgrades/Changes
"Based on Intel's dramatic sales warning Wednesday, you might expect rival Advanced Micro Devices to just crawl into a hole and die."


#3 Gripenfelter

Gripenfelter

    Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 81 posts
  • Location:Winnipeg, Canada

Posted 29 August 2009 - 11:28 AM

Ok it seems to work fine during the day and at night or as it gets cooler the tach starts to read high and get stuck and the volt meter reads low and is also wrong.
'93 383 Camaro Z28
'05 Pontiac GTO
'03 Yukon Denali (Wife's truck/tow vehicle)

Drive Run Idle Launch
Posted Image

#4 CapitalTruck

CapitalTruck

    Senior Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 1,144 posts
  • Location:Washington, D.C.
  • Gender:Male
  • Drives:'13 Silverado Ext. Cab. 4wd 4.8L

Posted 30 August 2009 - 12:21 AM

you can buy a new display on ebay, i've seen them on there.

CapitalTruck's Current Ride:

 

2013 Chevrolet Silverado Ext. Cab 4x4 LS 4.8L Purchased New 5/2013


#5 txab

txab

    Your worst fWONking nightmare

  • Moderator
  • 8,181 posts
  • Location:Texas
  • Gender:Male
  • Drives:2014 GMC Sierra

Posted 30 August 2009 - 10:32 AM

you can buy a new display on ebay, i've seen them on there.


Or send yours off for repair.

100_0955-1-1-1.jpg
"When the people find they can vote themselves money, that will herald the end of the republic."
-- Benjamin Franklin

bbp.pngsynad.pngAdamslogo3_zpsc74f7e65.png


#6 thearborbarber

thearborbarber

    Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 481 posts
  • Location:SoDak
  • Gender:Male

Posted 30 August 2009 - 01:08 PM

There was a recall for the gauge clusters. I got a letter for my 2004 in the mail.

http://www.gm-trucks...showtopic=70134
2009 GMC Sierra 1500
1999 Chevy Camaro Z28 (Mr. Hyde)
2004 Honda Civic (Dr. Jeckel)

#7 Markd

Markd

    .

  • Senior Moderator
  • 4,596 posts
  • Location:Florence, SC
  • Gender:Male

Posted 30 August 2009 - 06:40 PM

If you have less than 100 k miles, I would ask the dealer to replace it under recall. If over 100k miles (like me) order one. I got mine here!

"Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt"

Footnote

2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD CC Z71 SLT D-Max Stealth Grey Metallic

EX-03 GMC Sierra K1500 ECSB Z71 SLT Pewter

R.I.P. 2002 GMC Sierra K1500 ECSB Z71 SLT White

Ex-1999 GMC Sierra 1500 3dr Z71 SL Gray

Posted Image


#8 KYoutback

KYoutback

    Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 260 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 31 August 2009 - 03:24 PM

You can get the stepper motors from ebay and replacement is fairly simple. If you have any solder skill at all.

Stepper motor
Posted Image

#9 Gripenfelter

Gripenfelter

    Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 81 posts
  • Location:Winnipeg, Canada

Posted 31 August 2009 - 04:18 PM

Sweet. Thanks guys. I'll check out the recall stuff first otherwise I'll solder in a new stepper motor.
'93 383 Camaro Z28
'05 Pontiac GTO
'03 Yukon Denali (Wife's truck/tow vehicle)

Drive Run Idle Launch
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Advertise Here