Recommended Oil For 6.0 W/over 100k

wog2006

I want to put the best oil (and filter) in my 2500, but what's the best for light duty daily drivers that only do occasional heavy hauling? I work it everyday, but in construction, I mostly use it for its long bed, no goosenecks or 5th wheels.

Should I do an engine flush too? If so, what brand/method?

AMSOIL Signature Series! The Best hands down! Do some research on the oil and by all means visit thier site. My son is sponsored by them and his quad ( which is highly modded internally) has never had an oil related engine failure. I switched to it in all my vehicles and have had no worries since.

Any good quality motor oil today has all the benefits and good "stuff" that you would need for long engine life. The dyno oils are probably not quite as good as the synthetics, but you typically get what you pay for.

I have been using Pennzoil Platinum synthetic for many years with absolutely no issues....a couple of cars went over 200K miles, and the engines were excellent (even though the rest of the cars went to hell..ha).

I always use a GM AC Delco oil filter....one of the best.

I shy away from engine flushes, and have my own method when I buy a used car...I change the oil and filter when I first get the vehicle, drive it about 500-600 miles and change the oild and filter again, then once more around 1000 miles.....just to get the old junk out of it....

I would stay with the 5w30 as recommended by the GM engineers....they are smarter than I am.

I have changed to wynthetic in cars with as many as 130k+ miles without a problem....used to be that synthetic would cause leaks in higher mileage engines, but the manufacturers have worked most of that out with new additives....if you have it leak already, it could get a little worse with synthetic....

High mileage oil is ok, I guess, but I am afraid to used it because there is something in it that keeps it from being energy conserving like other oils....