Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Dealer Having Issues Programming The 2010 Nav In My 09


  • Please log in to reply
67 replies to this topic

#1 wyoming_88

wyoming_88

    Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 140 posts
  • Name:Don Campbell
  • Location:Powell Wy
  • Gender:Male
  • Drives:2013 Tundra CrewMax 5.7

Posted 19 March 2010 - 07:11 PM

I added 2010 Nav and factory backup camera to my 09 LTZ as per the 2010 USB thread on this site. Nav was a takeout so it was locked.They tried to program it as a 10 and a 09 and couldn't get it.The 1st time they called GM the tech line said it wouldn't work.The second time they said it would probably work if I had bought a new one from them.They are going to try again Monday............. any ideas.......????????

#2 Sir Dan

Sir Dan

    Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 653 posts
  • Location:Western Wisconsin
  • Gender:Male
  • Drives:2008 Sierra SLT ECSB

Posted 20 March 2010 - 12:14 AM

I added 2010 Nav and factory backup camera to my 09 LTZ as per the 2010 USB thread on this site. Nav was a takeout so it was locked.They tried to program it as a 10 and a 09 and couldn't get it.The 1st time they called GM the tech line said it wouldn't work.The second time they said it would probably work if I had bought a new one from them.They are going to try again Monday............. any ideas.......????????


You could try posting this question over on the Audio/ Video section. My guess would be that your Nav unit is not compatible but that's just a wild guess as I only have knowledge of the '08 without USB or Bluetooth.
http://www.gm-trucks...hp?showforum=28
2008 Sierra SLT ECSB Z71, Corsa Touring, and GMPP CAI
1" Rough Country Front Leveling, CK997 wheels w/ Cooper Zeon LTZs

#3 wyoming_88

wyoming_88

    Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 140 posts
  • Name:Don Campbell
  • Location:Powell Wy
  • Gender:Male
  • Drives:2013 Tundra CrewMax 5.7

Posted 20 March 2010 - 02:04 AM

I know it is compatible,it's already been done a handfull of times,just need to get the right combo.............

#4 Gregorio

Gregorio

    Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 199 posts

Posted 20 March 2010 - 08:46 AM

I did some asking of my friends in the AV world and they say all the dealer needs to do is get it to relearn the new vehicle's VIN. As long as the donor vehicle had Bose like yours, there should be no other reprogramming needed. However, the dealer's computer may not have the latest update for this particular part number. They might need to download it from GM.

#5 tbatba

tbatba

    Enthusiast

  • Newbie
  • 3 posts

Posted 20 March 2010 - 10:44 AM

I thought I read somewhere that they have to say its a Monte Carlo or something else in the TECH 2 to get the option to relearn the VIN.



Subject:
Radio Displays Locked Or Theft Lock - keywords inoperative loc no sound speaker colume #PIT4007A - (02/28/2007)

[align=left]



Models:
2007 Cadillac Escalade, ESV, EXT[/align][align=left]




2007 Chevrolet Avalanche, Silverado, Suburban, Tahoe[/align][align=left]




2007 GMC Sierra, Yukon, Yukon Denali, Yukon XL, Yukon Denali XL [/align]

 

The following diagnosis might be helpful if the vehicle exhibits the symptom(s) described in this PI.
Condition/Concern:
The radio theft deterrent system disables functionality if the VIN information received by the radio does not match the vehicle VIN information. The radio receives the vehicle VIN information through GMLAN. If a radio is replaced or swapped from another vehicle the radio will need to relearn the VIN information from the vehicle before it will function. If the VIN information of the vehicle does not match the learned VIN information in the radio, it will display "LOCKED" or "THEFT LOCK".
Recommendation/Instructions:
Currently, performing the radio setup in SI (Document ID # 1745049) will not learn the vehicles VIN information to the new radio. Engineering is aware of this and working on a correction.
A temporary solution is to perform the radio setup in SI (Document ID# 1745049), as well as, perform a VIN relearn. To perform the VIN relearn, build the Tech 2 as follows:
F0: Diagnostics
2006
Passenger Car
(1) Chevrolet
W
WN Monte Carlo LTZ
F6: Body and Accessories
Entertainment
F5: Module Setup
F0: Radio
F0: VIN Relearn
Please follow this diagnostic or repair process thoroughly and complete each step. If the condition exhibited is resolved without completing every step, the remaining steps do not need to be performed.

#6 wyoming_88

wyoming_88

    Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 140 posts
  • Name:Don Campbell
  • Location:Powell Wy
  • Gender:Male
  • Drives:2013 Tundra CrewMax 5.7

Posted 21 March 2010 - 12:28 AM

Thanks guys,I have a good relationship with the Dealer and am gathering up info to take back in Monday...........

#7 C. Charles Hahn

C. Charles Hahn

    Senior Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 3,005 posts
  • Name:Charlie
  • Location:Lansing, MI
  • Gender:Male
  • Drives:08 Sierra CCSB All Terrain

Posted 21 March 2010 - 02:12 AM

Don, just a thought but did you add the aftermarket VSS/Voice harness and whatnot when you did the install? If not that might cause a hiccup, but I'm not sure.

I would say that Greg is on the right track though -- I've never heard of people having problems with OE radio upgrades beyond just having the dealer do a VIN re-learn. I'm not sure why yours wouldn't be working.
2008 GMC Sierra CC SLT "All Terrain" Z71 4x4
Stealth Gray Metallic | Ebony UltraSoft Leather | 5.3L FlexFuel AFM-Delete V8 | 3.73 Locking Differential (G80)
Airaid MIT | K&N Drop-In | HP Tuners | Line-X Over-the-Rail | Fold-a-Cover G4 Elite | Spencer's 6K HID Conversion Low Beams and Fogs | OEM Navigation | OEM OnStar Bluetooth | Addco Front & Rear Sway Bars

2009 GMC Envoy Denali 4WD
Quicksilver Metallic | Ebony Leather | 5.3L AFM V8 | 3.42 Locking Differential (G80)
"IEATSRT8'S" CAI | Hotchkis Rear Sway Bar | HP Tuners

#8 wyoming_88

wyoming_88

    Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 140 posts
  • Name:Don Campbell
  • Location:Powell Wy
  • Gender:Male
  • Drives:2013 Tundra CrewMax 5.7

Posted 21 March 2010 - 02:23 AM

Don, just a thought but did you add the aftermarket VSS/Voice harness and whatnot when you did the install? If not that might cause a hiccup, but I'm not sure.

I would say that Greg is on the right track though -- I've never heard of people having problems with OE radio upgrades beyond just having the dealer do a VIN re-learn. I'm not sure why yours wouldn't be working.

I did add the VSS harness and The Harness to the Onstar module

#9 wyoming_88

wyoming_88

    Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 140 posts
  • Name:Don Campbell
  • Location:Powell Wy
  • Gender:Male
  • Drives:2013 Tundra CrewMax 5.7

Posted 22 March 2010 - 07:51 PM

I thought I read somewhere that they have to say its a Monte Carlo or something else in the TECH 2 to get the option to relearn the VIN.



Subject:
Radio Displays Locked Or Theft Lock - keywords inoperative loc no sound speaker colume #PIT4007A - (02/28/2007)

[align=left]



Models:
2007 Cadillac Escalade, ESV, EXT[/align][align=left]




2007 Chevrolet Avalanche, Silverado, Suburban, Tahoe[/align][align=left]




2007 GMC Sierra, Yukon, Yukon Denali, Yukon XL, Yukon Denali XL [/align]

 

The following diagnosis might be helpful if the vehicle exhibits the symptom(s) described in this PI.
Condition/Concern:
The radio theft deterrent system disables functionality if the VIN information received by the radio does not match the vehicle VIN information. The radio receives the vehicle VIN information through GMLAN. If a radio is replaced or swapped from another vehicle the radio will need to relearn the VIN information from the vehicle before it will function. If the VIN information of the vehicle does not match the learned VIN information in the radio, it will display "LOCKED" or "THEFT LOCK".
Recommendation/Instructions:
Currently, performing the radio setup in SI (Document ID # 1745049) will not learn the vehicles VIN information to the new radio. Engineering is aware of this and working on a correction.
A temporary solution is to perform the radio setup in SI (Document ID# 1745049), as well as, perform a VIN relearn. To perform the VIN relearn, build the Tech 2 as follows:
F0: Diagnostics
2006
Passenger Car
(1) Chevrolet
W
WN Monte Carlo LTZ
F6: Body and Accessories
Entertainment
F5: Module Setup
F0: Radio
F0: VIN Relearn
Please follow this diagnostic or repair process thoroughly and complete each step. If the condition exhibited is resolved without completing every step, the remaining steps do not need to be performed.

Took some info to the Dealer today,looks like they will try this Service Bulletin Tomorrow before they get back on the phone with GM,anyone have an idea if this might work?

#10 4ws_4wd_burb

4ws_4wd_burb

    Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 20 posts

Posted 22 March 2010 - 09:15 PM

I'm in the same boat. Bought a take-out off eBay and tried to have it programmed at dealer today. The "Monte Carlo" trick worked for clearing theftlock, but the tech gets an error when trying to program radio. All I have right now is a clock, nothing works yet. We are waiting for the engineering solution.

#11 wyoming_88

wyoming_88

    Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 140 posts
  • Name:Don Campbell
  • Location:Powell Wy
  • Gender:Male
  • Drives:2013 Tundra CrewMax 5.7

Posted 22 March 2010 - 09:20 PM

I'm in the same boat. Bought a take-out off eBay and tried to have it programmed at dealer today. The "Monte Carlo" trick worked for clearing theftlock, but the tech gets an error when trying to program radio. All I have right now is a clock, nothing works yet. We are waiting for the engineering solution.

That is not what I wanted to hear........... at all :)

#12 4ws_4wd_burb

4ws_4wd_burb

    Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 20 posts

Posted 22 March 2010 - 09:25 PM

No fears yet, the gm tech support got the same error trying to program a 2010 radio in a 2010 vehicle - could be a bad program in the Tech2 system. At least that is my hope.

#13 4ws_4wd_burb

4ws_4wd_burb

    Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 20 posts

Posted 24 March 2010 - 11:36 AM

No good news yet. GM technical support told dealership yesterday that the 2010 nav radio will not work in 2009. I countered today that Gregorio's new 2010 nav radio installed fine in his 2009. Dealership said that they would make more calls and get back with me.

The radio will come on if I hold down the audio or menu buttons, but at full volume (no volume control). I can go through various menu options - switch between bands, change channels, eject nav dvd. Nav options do not seem to work though.

#14 wyoming_88

wyoming_88

    Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 140 posts
  • Name:Don Campbell
  • Location:Powell Wy
  • Gender:Male
  • Drives:2013 Tundra CrewMax 5.7

Posted 24 March 2010 - 12:00 PM

No good news yet. GM technical support told dealership yesterday that the 2010 nav radio will not work in 2009. I countered today that Gregorio's new 2010 nav radio installed fine in his 2009. Dealership said that they would make more calls and get back with me.

The radio will come on if I hold down the audio or menu buttons, but at full volume (no volume control). I can go through various menu options - switch between bands, change channels, eject nav dvd. Nav options do not seem to work though.


There is a radio vender on Ebay that will program the radio to the truck for about $100.00...... if my Dealer doesn't get mine working today I'm shipping it to be programmed tomorrow....

#15 M. Cueva

M. Cueva

    M. Cueva

  • Tech Wiki Editor
  • 9,010 posts
  • Location:Austin Texas
  • Gender:Male
  • Drives:2006 Chevrolet Silverado

Posted 24 March 2010 - 12:08 PM

FYI from my experience, GM Techline has been having issues with reprogramming and calibration files not only related to the radio/nav units on newer vehicles but also reprogramming of the BCM as well. I had a similar issue where GM Techline said that my IPC was busted and that it would not accept the programming for the DIC (GMT800). Had an independent programmer take care of this for me and now all is well...dealership himself said that he is loosing faith in GM Techline.

Edited by M. Cueva, 24 March 2010 - 12:26 PM.

Slade_zpsfd1fdb0c.jpg

My Truck:
2006 Silverado Crew Cab with the 4.8 Vortec
See my website for Customizations/Upgrades: Silverado Upgrades/Changes
"Based on Intel's dramatic sales warning Wednesday, you might expect rival Advanced Micro Devices to just crawl into a hole and die."





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users