Any 2007 Or Newer Suburban 2500 Owners Out There?

Hello all

I'm a newbie here, and just recently replaced my cherished 2005 Yukon 1500 with a used 2007 Suburban 2500 6.0 4x4. Replacement was mainly due to an expandin family (3 kids now instead of 2, plus a dog), and my Yukon's marginal ability to pull our 26' travel trailer.

So my questions are this:

1. Are there many 2007 or newer Suburban 2500 owners on this forum?

2. What kind of fuel mileage are you getting with your 'burban? (including around town, highway, and towing if you know all 3)

3. What kind of modifications have you done to your Suburbans? Cosmetic? Performance? Fuel Economy? Other?

I recently replaced the stock exhaust with a Magnaflow cat back system, and am very happy with looks, sound, and fit/finish. No idea yet on fuel economy, but seat of pants the truck feels a bit stronger...

Anyways, if you are willing, help a newbie out and share?

Thanks in advance

Well based on complaints in the forums the 6.0L is lazy. Fuel mileage is 12mpg to 16mpg. Most here get tuned by blackbear and they are happy campers. Your 6.0L will pull that camper no issue. The issue is what gears are in the yukon. If there 4.10 or 3.73 your fine anything lower numerically will be a strain on the transmission. Assuming is an 2500 yukon you probably have the 4L80E transmssion and the DO NOT LIKE HEAT. Put a bigger transmission cooler on it at a minimum. More will chime in soon I am sure.

At least for 2010, the 2500 Yukon's only come with 3.73's. There aren't any options (higher or lower). The 2500's also come with the 6L90E transmission. With the 6.0 they aren't a racecar by any means, but it has plenty of get up and go. I would have liked, and gotten, the 6.2 if it was offered in the 2500.

Gas mileage is not great. 12 city, 17 highway is what I've been getting (only 800 miles on it though). Haven't towed much other than my flatbed trailer unloaded (~2000 lbs) so can't comment on the towing mileage.