• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 tuner1406

tuner1406

Enthusiast

• 3 posts

Posted 03 January 2011 - 07:42 AM

hello im a newbie

im looking at buying a 91 gmc sierra 1500 4x4, i dont know what tranny it has, all i know is that its auto, but the tranny wont shift into 3rd or 4th gear, and the guy says that the fluid and filter needs to be changed(or thats what hes been told is the problem), i havent gone to look at the truck yet so i dont know how the other gears shift, but is this most likely the cause, or will the tranny probably have to be rebuilt?, thanks

#2 txab

txab

Your worst fWONking nightmare

• 8,160 posts
  • Drives:2014 GMC Sierra

Posted 03 January 2011 - 10:01 AM

hello im a newbie

im looking at buying a 91 gmc sierra 1500 4x4, i dont know what tranny it has, all i know is that its auto, but the tranny wont shift into 3rd or 4th gear, and the guy says that the fluid and filter needs to be changed(or thats what hes been told is the problem), i havent gone to look at the truck yet so i dont know how the other gears shift, but is this most likely the cause, or will the tranny probably have to be rebuilt?, thanks

Plan on the problem being that and offer a price taking that into consideration, or stay the hell away from it. Sounds like the 3-4 clutches are gone

100_0955-1-1-1.jpg
"When the people find they can vote themselves money, that will herald the end of the republic."
-- Benjamin Franklin

bbp.pngsynad.pngAdamslogo3_zpsc74f7e65.png

#3 tuner1406

tuner1406

Enthusiast

• 3 posts

Posted 03 January 2011 - 10:04 AM

hello im a newbie

Plan on the problem being that and offer a price taking that into consideration, or stay the hell away from it. Sounds like the 3-4 clutches are gone