Arizona?

Mattallica

any members from the Tempe/Chandler/Gilbert area ?

I have an uncle that moved out to AZ a few years back...absolutely loves it.

I'm thinking of joining him with the family from crusty old upstate NY....looking at taking a visit ,checking out the Gilbert/Chandler area?

I have a wife and 3 kids...17/14/9 and obviously the environment for kids is a concern.I have a decent lead on employment if I go that way.

Just curious what current residents might offer as advise/tips etc,..

I grew up in that exact area, great place! There a re a few members from that area also on the board.

Out of 6 kids in my family 4 still call it there home because it is a nice place. The other two of us are military and both plan on moving back after service. You would not regret it.

thats good to hear!!

I work as a general contractor here in NY.....cant get enough business to carry the 5-6 months of winter/ off season weather.

Also have a background in auto body...but with the cold...its the same story...anything I could do is a temperature issue for too long during the cold months.

I have a potential job lead in construction/remodelling work in AZ...and my uncle who I apprenticed under (in his body shop) lives in Tempe right now, might be able to help me get a shop up and running eventually.

weather channel says its 70 and sunny there today...I woke up to -21* this morning...with a high of 8????

WHY AM I STILL HERE!!!!!!

Anyhow... I've been looking at property in Gilbert/Tempe/Chandler/some of Mesa.

would like something with a little space for a backyard etc,..and not necessarily right on top of my neighbors.

Any suggestions?

How about the schools...decent ones ?

Are there vocational schools in the area for high school students?

I see new construction in Queen Creek,but I think thats getting a little further away from where I would want to be...but hows that area?

Any problems with gangs in any of these areas?