Michigan Guys- Help Me Find A New Home!

MikeNH

I'm going to be relocating to Michigan to be a regional representative for my current employer and should be moving in early March. As a field service technician I travel almost every week and while I expect this move will allow me to not fly nearly as often as I do now, airport access is still important to me. So, anyone have towns/places I should look at within an hour of Detroit airport? Things like nightlife, artsy things or special restaurants aren't all that important to me, I just want someplace quiet to hang my hat when I'm not on the road. Rural/away from everything is fine though I doubt that exists within an hour of DTW.

Thoughts?

Does it have to be a hour from DTW or can you go from another airport like Flint (FNT) or Saginaw/Bay City/Midland (MBS)? You say regional representative, what is your primary area (SE MI, NE MI, SW MI, etc)?

RV- It needs to be Detroit. This move was my idea and part of the pitch was having access to a major (Delta in this case) airport hub. NH doesn't have a big airport (only one with commercial service!) so going most places is a multi-stop affair. My region will still officially be all of the US and Canada but with the focus on the upper midwest- MI, IL, IN, OH, Ontario, etc. Basically I'd follow the same guidelines we use at the head office in NH as well as what our guy in California does- if the customer is within 400 miles we'll generally drive and if it is beyond that we fly. We have a ton of customers in that part of the country so I expect most of my trips will be "local"/driving. The past 4 years we've had about 40 trips to the region each year and that's with customers paying the expensive airfare and other fees to get us out there. I expect this to pick up a lot as when we placed a guy in Cali our business there exploded as customers could more easily afford to have us come and do more minor repairs/maintenance that before wasn't cost-effective.