Programmer shopping for a 5.3L

I'm in the market for a programmer for my '01 Suburban. I primarily want one to help achieve optimal fuel economy. But I have no clue which brand/model programmer is best for fuel economy. Can anyone chime in with some first hand experience?

I have a Diablo Predator sport for 06 Sierra and I absolutely love it. Easy handheld programming. A friend uses a superchips cortex for his F**d and loves it. I know many other will chime in about the Black Bear tunes as well but i have no experiences with it but hear lots of great stories.

I had a 2001 Silverado 5.3L with 4.10 gears and I picked up a Hypertech programmer for it. I saw a 2-3 MPG increase but nothing special.

I have the same Hypertech Programmer for my 2010 and noticed about the same increase.

I am nowhere near Blackbear Performance or one of their tune days so I opted for a hand held. A custom tune will give you better results because not all 4.3,4.8,5.3,6.2 engines run the same. Hypertech also allowed me to calibrate my speedo, and on my new pickup shut down AFM.

Bottom line, it'll take you a while before it pays for itself if your only after it for the MPG savings.

Generally, higher efficiency (leaner burn) means less power, and more power means higher enrichment (lower efficiency). Performance tuners focus on power, more responsive shifts, etc. to improve feel... not economy or emissions. These trucks are programmed for stoich operation from the factory, and could be off a little... but a clean MAF, air filter, good plugs/wires, good fuel/oil, etc.(i.e., back to factory specs)... and a very light right foot... should do more to help economy than a tune. My 2 cents.

Our MPG booster tune for the 5.3 is an awesome tune. We optimize the DoD settings to allow for more time in DoD, so it stays in DoD more often, and at higher throttle inputs, and higher speeds.

We have users reporting average of 2-3 MPG gain with the MPG booster tune on 5.3s.