Wheel Offset Advice

SLong

Guys, I think I've decided to get a set of XD Monsters for my 2011 Z71. I have the 18" stock wheels on my truck now, and 265/70/18 tires. These tires are pretty tall but stock width, so I like the idea of pushing them a little further to the outside of the wheel well. I have zero knowledge about rims as I've never bought a set of aftermarket rims before.

Does anyone know the offset of the stock 18" rims that I currently have. I looked online and saw that the Monsters come in a -12 offset in the 18s. Does anyone have any idea how far this rim will push the tire out? I'd like to push them only 1/2" or so further out. Thanks in advance for any help.

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Guys, I've done some research and found out the stock 18s on my truck have an offset of +31mm. The Monsters come in +33, +18 and -12. The +18mm, 18x9 sounds like it may be the way to go. Since there are 25.4mm in an inch, they should stick out a 1/2" past where the stocks one do with the same tires, if the stock rims are in fact 18x9. Does anyone know if the stock rims are 18x9? If they are 18x8.5, I guess that would mean that the tires would be pushed out another 1/2"????

Thanks, what tire and tire size was that in the pic? I'd like to look up the specs on that tire and see how wide they are and use the width of my tires to determine how much less mine will stick out. My tires aren't as wide as yours in the pic.

Thanks, does that mean I can expect the tires to be pushed out a full 1.5" from where they currently sit? A 1/2" for the change from +31 offset to +18 and another 1" from the change from an 8" rim to a 9" rim? Do you see a true 1" in projection from the 8" to 9"? Keep in mind I'm keeping my current tires that are on the stock rims. They are new. Thanks for the feedback.

Should pick up 1.09 inches. .59 inches for the offset difference and 1/2 inch for the wheel size difference. The one inch wheel difference will be split inside and outside.