Ok I am a novice when it comes to guns, I know the major brands (Springfield Armory, Glock, etc). Looking to possibly purchase a gun to mainly leave at home in a small safe in our room or office. What would be your suggestion (caliber/size)?

I like the XD's.

Thanks!

• Replies 133
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I personally like .45 and a 1911. I have one loaded on my closet shelf. Nice thing is the external safety.

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk

9mm is a good round to start with as it will generally be cheaper to get ammo. 45 has a bit more kick but isn't bad either. I'd stay away from .40, it's a snappy round that can be difficult to learn for a beginner. Find a range that has rentals and try the XD, Glock and M&P. Those would be the three I'd recommend to start with. Sigs and HKs are excellent pistols but the DA/SA trigger is tricky to master. A consistent trigger pull is best IMO. For gun size I like the mid-size models (Glock calls these compact, not sure on the others). A 9mm Glock in this size is a G19. All of these have a barrel just under 4" and the mag should hold around 15 rounds. They're also a nice size to carry if you chose to take that step down the road.

External safety on a striker fired gun like the three I mentioned is pointless. The XD offers a model like that but I'd strongly recommend against it. Just something you're liable to forget about when you need the gun. As long as it's locked up when unattended that's all you'll need. I've carried my Glock with no manual safety most days since 2009 and haven't shot myself once. :lol: