ROSEN Carshow GM-1210 Acadia Install & First Impressions

Disclaimer: I purchased and personally use this unit in my everyday vehicle. This unit was not provided as a review unit and no special things were done. I have no "real" experience installing electronics in vehicles. I use the internet and first hand experiences of friends to guide me in the right direction.

My Car: 2012 GMC Acadia SLT-1 Fully Loaded (Minus Navigation)

+Built in OnStar, SiriusXM, Premium Bose Audio System, Fold Down Rear entertainment Screen & Console. As of this post I have 26,445 Miles on the ODO.

Retailer/E-tailer: I purchased my system from Walt at www.adcmobile.com. Amazon had it a little cheaper and so did quite a few other places. However, when I call Walt... he answers and I speak to a live person that knows his product intimately. Other Retailers.. not so much.

Why this Unit and not the OGM-1: In my search for the perfect head unit I had a few considerations. The unit needed to be plug and play and easily removable. It had to be upgradeable and the Maps had to be up-to-date and easily accessible. It also had to support my iPhone and Bluetooth. I was not willing to loose ANY Functionality AT ALL. I had to concede (1) thing but more on that later. While the Advent OGM-1 was a great first choice... sadly they do not make them anymore. Its undetermined when the refurbished units will be back and even then... wheres that leave me if mine breaks within 3 years from purchase?

I spoke to Walt about this and he told me about the Rosen and compared it to Advent. I could not really find a difference in the units except that the Rosen's interface is significantly nicer looking and the backup camera is INSTANT ON instead of delayed like the Advent. The Advent seems to offer a few more things than the Rosen in the form of Backup Sensors and the like that the Rosen does not have. (Or I haven't found it yet.)