No Speedo/No Shift

working on my 01 1500 4wd. having to give heavy throttle to even get a 1-2 shift. have been thru t-case and replaced all vss sensors. still no speed signal to gauge cluster or ecm. has anyone had this issue before? I am a vet mechanic but not in the business anymore. I have tried a lot and am losing this battle.

Although no tranny problems on my end, I've been chasing a few problems myself as of late and finding out they are all electrical / ground related since everything including the transmissions are electronically controlled. I recently read a report that water could get in under the dash and into the main body harness to gauge cluster connection causing the problem you describe, so I would look at that for sure for any signs of moisture, debris, corrosion, etc., this will be either right behind the gauge cluster or in the drivers side kick panel area. The more easy things to check first would be to remove the drivers side kick panel to see if water has gotten into any connections there. I'd also research any grounds pertaining to where they are located for the PCM and the transmission which you can usually find illustrations here on the internet by model and year. Depending on the year there are numerous possible trouble locations ranging from grounds on the back of the cylinder heads, back of the block near the back of the heads (both not easy to get to), or grounds under the drivers side door on the frame that go bad. Also take a look under the power box under the hood (the part holding the fuses and relays should flip open) for sign of mice getting in and chewing on wires. Is it showing any codes?

I hope you are able to get it figured out.

yes. p0502 which is "speed sensor low input" . I am gonna go through all grounds and look at those areas you spoke of today. what you recommended is different than the advise I had already gotten so that might be what gets it fixed. thank you. will let you know how it goes.