Humm, Bearings or tires

TJMaine

Question

2007 GMC Sierra 1500 Crew Cab, 5.3L No lift, no level. New BF Goodrich Rugged Terrains.

I'm new to owning a truck so anything I hear on the truck that sounds different worries me.

Put new tires on last fall, very quiet for the first 1,000 miles or so, then seem to get louder..

The hum i was referring to doesn't get worse or better when turning the wheel ( which leads me to believe it's the tires vs the bearings )

Any input would be great. 190k miles so every hum and creak worries me and I want to stay on top of maintenance.

15 answers to this question

Take a close look at the tread of the tires. Make sure that all 4 tires have the same pattern of wear on them. Look specifically for tread starting to look like a feather. In other words, if you slide the palm of your hand around the circumference of the tire in one direction, does it feel/appear to be the same as the other direction. ( I've been keeping a close eye on that, looks even to me, also rotate every 3k miles because it's free... whenever i get an oil change, they rebalance the tire and check air pressure )

Are these ties "P" type tires or are they "LT" type tires. The tire size on the sidewall will tell you that. What air pressures are you running? Is the hum/vibration worse on cold tires than on warm tires? Does it change on acceleration or hard braking?

P265/70R17
113T SL 480 A B 2305 lbs. 44 psi 12.5/32" 40 lbs. 7-9" 8" 10.7" 8.4" 31.7" 657 US

This is whats on the truck right now.... I dont see LT on there anywhere, so I am assuming the P in P265 is the P you were referring to
Tire pressure is 32 at operating temp... when it's really cold ( as in your dog wont even take a dump outside cold ) it's 27... and no there is no difference when accelerating or braking

You do not say if it is a 4wd truck, so if it is, put the truck in 4wd and see if the hum/vibration is the same. Remember to not leave it in 4wd afterwards.