I am having two issues with my 2000 GMC Sonoma 2.2L 2WD single cab pickup truck. It has the 4L60E transmission in it, which is what is causing issues. It currently about 146,000 miles on the truck itself, but has a rebuilt transmission in it with about 60,000 miles. The reason I replaced the transmission the first time was because it wouldn't shift out of first gear and there was a loud cranking, grinding sound. Reverse also wouldn't work. I first noticed issues with the original transmission during a 400-mile road trip across generally hilly terrain. I wasn't towing anything, nor was it loaded with much except a large suitcase and my wife and I.

About midway through the trip (traveling 60-70 mph), what I believe was the TCC failed to engage. I'm a complete noob when it comes to transmissions and TCs, but research on the web led me to surmise the TCC was the issue. As I was in the fourth gear, the RPMs jumped up from 3k to 4k, with no change in the accelerator position. I was not at WOT. The tachometer would remain at the higher RPMs for about 30-60 minutes until it would randomly drop back down to the normal cruising rate. This cycle would repeat multiple times throughout the trip there and back. Not realizing there was a major issue (and being pretty broke), I didn't have my truck checked. About a month later, the transmission did the grinding, clanking sound and went caput. That's when my mechanic recommended a transmission replacement.

That was about six months ago.Two weeks ago, I took a job that requires me to travel about 20 minutes on a 70 mph interstate to get to work and back. I also drive the entire time throughout my 8-hour work day. The temperature outside has been nice (70-75 degrees), and I'm never revving the motor past 3k RPM.

So that's the history. Sorry for the lengthy explanation. I wanted all the facts in there.

Here's the two problems I'm encountering.

1: Hard shift into second gear.