N00b with questions

Great forum here! I've been using vehicle-specific forums since the late 1990's for whatever vehicle I had or wanted. They are always a great resource so I really appreciate finding this one.

I thought a big truck like this would be out of my price range, but an SLE with cloth seats is reasonably priced and all the local dealers are advertising discounts of 6-7K as a combination of their discount plus cash back from GM. I'l be trading in two vehicles that are paid for. KBB and Edmunds say they are worth about 6k together as trade-ins.

I haven't bought a new vehicle new since 2003 and I had no trade then. I have seriously had very hard times in the past with disrespectful and deceitful car dealers, even though I am always nice and polite and honest with them. I would have bought two new vehicles since 2003 if they didn't act they way they did. Both times I just took my down payment and repaired/maintained my old truck instead. I've been reading articles on modern car dealers and it doesn't look like they have changed much.

The last time I tried to trade in a good used vehicle the dealership basically insulted me and told me that KBB and Edmunds don't have a clue to what a cars value is. Have you guys had good luck with Chevy or GMC dealers giving a fair price for your trades, or will they still try to low ball you?

I want this for my daily driver, and don't haul much so I was going for the 4.3 V6, which has good reviews, but I've read that the 5.3 V8 gets nearly the same gas mileage on the highway with much more power because they both run on 4 cylinders on the highway. I drive on highways to and from work. Any of you guys have experience with both?