My Intake Mod

I thought I'd approach this a little differently than others have.

I have a 5.3L and my first thought was to do a little mod to the intake to increase the flow. I know the popular thing to do is to buy a $200-400 "CAI" or the Airaid MIT tube. I gave it some thought and didn't like the idea of extra noise. I don't like the filters supplied with the "CAI"s.

So, I thought I'd put a bigger throttle body on it. First, I bought the 6.2L throttle body. $100 It is a 87mm throttle body. Same one on the truck and the LT1 Vette. A 5.3L has a 80mm throttle body. It won't fit on the 5.3 intake manifold. Different bolt pattern and smaller hole for the throttle body. I thought about making an adapter plate. I was a machinist in a past life. Still have some access to machines.

Then I saw that a 6.2L manifold was $110. I bought it. I figured I could return it, sell it or whatever if it didn't fit.

Then I found out the intake duct from the air filter box to the throttle body had a larger diameter connection on the 6.2L throttle body. The difference in the duct (big squarish box looking silencer) is just a rubber hose connector, which is bonded on the plastic. So, I just bought a new 6.2L intake duct. $85

So, I'm at about $295 + shipping. I'm probably $360 or more into it.

Here's the mod work from today.

Before

before_zpsndvtmlag.jpg

Duct removed.

5.3L%20before_zpsjfzohhho.jpg

6.2 duct vs. 5.3 duct

intake%20duct%20comparision_zpsc00uhi66.

TB%20connector_zpsiboprera.jpg

Intake manifold removed.

Manifold%20off_zpsdyxny6at.jpg

Oil in the ports. Gotta get the oil separator can installed.

Oiled%20intake%20port_zps22ysjjqr.jpg

Finished.

after_zpsth4apwsb.jpg