Gear ratio

I was curious how do I tell what gears I have in my 2014 GMC sle 4x4. I crawled under the truck but couldn't find any markings on the rear diff.

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

Wow I have the 3.08's. I'm a complete noob when it comes to gearing I should have researched that before buying but they say hindsight is 20/20. So if I plan on re gearing what would be my best and cheapest option if I only pull 3500 pounds once or twice a year and I'm staying with 33's and I have the 6 speed ?

Makes you wonder why GM used a 3.08 in the first place, thanks Txjose time to research .

6spd 3.08 is about the same as 3.73 4spd. I think......07softail will chime in he knows his gears lol

Sent from my Note 4 on Tapashit

In first gear it's the same... anywhere else the mechanical advantage tapers off. It's not horrid but with high ratios like 3.08 the more gears to play with in the trans the better.... and with granny low and 2 overdrives you only have 3 functional driving gears... and in most instances two because second at 2.36 to 1 is too low to back shift into at highway speed. So beyond 2 overdrives while rolling you have a 1.53 to 1 ratio and a 1.15 to 1 ratio... much like a 60e having 1.5 to 1 and 1 to 1.... but the 60e truck still has a 4.10 set in the rear... not 3.08. 3.08 is 3.08... kind of like my 3.23... I just have more gears to play with and more to downshift too. I still would like 3.73 behind my 8 speed.

Sent from my SM-G900W8 using Tapatalk

6spd 3.08 is about the same as 3.73 4spd. I think......07softail will chime in he knows his gears lol

Sent from my Note 4 on Tapashit

6 speed 3.08 rear gears is equivalent to the 4l60e with 3.42's. That being said, the 6l80e has a lower first gear so it comes off the line quicker

So my 2015 z71 cc came with 3.42 gears. If I wanted to upgrade to 3.73, will the dealership perform the swap? Or should I go to another shop to have the work done? And by doing so, is this a big warranty concern?