Brakes not releasing

John08Silverado

Question

I have a 2008 Silverado 1500, 5.3L. For about a month now I have noticed that my brakes aren't completely releasing when I start driving. My pads and rotors are in good condition and my brakes aren't completely locking up, but they squeak alot now and I can feel like I have to power through the brakes for the first few seconds after I let off. I am not a mechanic but I can tell something isn't right. Any advice or possible fixes would be appreciated.

6 answers to this question

Gotta love it. GM is great at taking designs that worked for over 7 decades, and creating new and improved problems that defy all logic. Odd symptom, for sure.

Possibly dirty, contaminated brake fluid - guess it wouldn't hurt to flush the system, especially if that's OEM fluid in there. Maybe a hose or 2 that's momentarily collapsing ... sticky master cylinder ....

Could be any one, or all of the above.

I've got a 30 year old Grand Marquis that's still running the original calipers. Had one hang up on me once - flushed the system front to back, pressed the piston back into the caliper, reinstalled, and pumped the brakes up. Haven't had a problem since - that was 2 years ago. I'm pretty sure the fluid was over 10 years old too. They sure don't build anything like they used to ...

I have a 2008 Silverado 1500, 5.3L. For about a month now I have noticed that my brakes aren't completely releasing when I start driving. My pads and rotors are in good condition and my brakes aren't completely locking up, but they squeak alot now and I can feel like I have to power through the brakes for the first few seconds after I let off. I am not a mechanic but I can tell something isn't right. Any advice or possible fixes would be appreciated.

Good Morning John08Silverado,