torque specs for front diff and rear diff

Did my fluids last night in a 2007 escalade ext, and on a YouTube video I saw the guy with the same truck and he did:

Front diff fill plug 13 lb foot
Front diff drain plug 13 lb foot
Rear fill plug 13 lb foot
Rear diff cover case 13 lb ft

i used the same torque specs that he did but when i read online it seems like its 24lb ft for the drain and fill plug, and then 29lb ft for the rear cover bolts.

ive been driving around for a day or two and no leaks. i should probably torque it up to 24 and 29 if its supposed to be that high

Specs are dependent on what rear axle you have.  If its got a fill plug in the cover and no drain, specs are as follows:

Rear Axle:

Fill plug - 24ft.lbs. (fill plug in the cover itself)

Diff cover bolts - 30ft.lbs. 

Front Axle:

Drain and fill plugs - 24ft.lbs.

I have been changing diff and Xfer fluids since the late 1960's and I have never torqued down bolts on covers or plugs.  I just have never considered it.  Maybe just the way I was taught about such things growing up on the farm.  I just do it by "feel".  Now, of course, heads, manifolds, etc, they would get torqued.  I guess I am always amazed at how much into detail some folks go regarding this sort of stuff.  Nothing wrong with it.  Not sure it is all that necessary though.

Edited by Cowpie
  • Like 3

On ‎10‎/‎30‎/‎2017 at 1:45 PM, sdeeter19555 said:

Ft-lb or in-lb? Seems high for a drain plug...

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk

On ‎10‎/‎30‎/‎2017 at 3:03 PM, 007matman said:

I agree.. I'd double-check that. It seems high.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk

All specs I posted are right from GM.

Edited by newdude

• 4 weeks later...