Motor swap

Stevie29

I have a 2004 Tahoe 5.3 z71 4x4 the motors starting to give. I also have a 99 Yukon with rebuilt 5.7 4x4, can I jus pull and drop the 5.7 motor into my 04 Tahoe? If so do I have to change out the ECM as well or is my 04 5.3L ECM compatible with the 5.7L older motor? 

I have a 2004 Tahoe 5.3 z71 4x4 the motors starting to give. I also have a 99 Yukon with rebuilt 5.7 4x4, can I jus pull and drop the 5.7 motor into my 04 Tahoe? If so do I have to change out the ECM as well or is my 04 5.3L ECM compatible with the 5.7L older motor? 

Disclaimer: I'm no mechanical expert.

I honestly think your Tahoe is too new to be even kinda compatible with the o'l 5.7l. Other than paying someone to tune the computer which can cost a few pennies, I think only Chevy express vans had a newer computer setup with the 5.7l and that stopped in 2002.

2003 was when GM made the big move of changing computer systems and wiring around on these engines. If you had a 2002 or older Tahoe you might have been in a better starting position to do this swap. Only other tune to go off of is a Corvette 5.7l tune, but I'm pretty sure the Vette 5.7l and your Tahoe 5.7l are different animals all together.

Secondly, I know you didn't give a description of how you know your engine is starting to die? But I've seen the 5.3l engines run for 300,000 miles plus with really minimal upkeep. I have 190,000 on my first year for the genIII engine and besides a little ticking on start up, runs like a champ. (Ticking noise is common on these engines). Maybe trying to solve why your current engine is not running so well would be a better cheaper and less of a headache option. Usually,(not always), a little head work or new intake seals (maybe lifters), new sensors and these engines come back to life.