Heater core replacement

1 hour ago, Jim Foley said:

I need to remove the heater core and replace it in my 2004 chev. 5.3. How hard is this to do and how much of the dash needs to be removed?

It's a pretty good job. The whole dash has to be removed. It's not a very hard job... Just a long job. What I would recommend is taking pictures with your phone. I have been doing this for 20 years and I take pictures just so I can make sure if I forget how something went (as far as routing of a harness or such) that it gets put back right.

Remove the dash pannel... Pictures, Remove the carrier... Pictures, Remove the HVAC case... Pictures... Take more pictures than you think you need in every angle.

Yes, I believe there is a small leak. I can smell coolant once the fluid comes up to temp and pressure. The windows fog up when I park it, or if I let it idle  to warm up when I start it. I can feel a bit of dampness on the carpet.

I just completed a water pump and thermostat replacement. No leaks from that at all.

I am somewhat intimidated by what carcau said about replacing the core, sounds like a difficult job for an old, disabled guy. I don't have the money to pay someone to do it.

I have been wondering if there may be some sort of stop leak or sealer that would be safe to use. I seem to remember years ago that mechanics strongly advised against using the old style "Stop Leak" because it caused problems. I hesitate to go that route without some assurance that it it is safe.

Thanks for asking. I was about to ask this question about the stop leak, but your question beat me to it.

Jim

• 2 weeks later...