2017 tahoe review

Hello everyone,

I bought the wife a new (leftover) 2017 Tahoe LT back in mid December. Its fairly loaded, 5.3 with 3.08's. We got a good discount over 10k off sticker and a great trade in on her 2013 Equinox with 90k miles.

I had been researching Tahoe's and Yukon's for the past 6 months, so i was aware of some of the issues this platform has experienced. Well, I am happy to report that this Tahoe has been absolutely flawless! No shakes, no thumping, nothing but smooth and quiet. The wife has adjusted to the larger size and has put almost 1800 miles on it.

Pros: Great paint, fit and finish very good. Sound system very good. Good power and pick up even with the 3.08's.

Cons: Headlights are quite dim, especially low beams. Fuel mileage a bit exaggerated,  only averaging 16 mpg with a fair amount of highway driving. Don't think the advertised 21mpg highway mpg could ever be achieved.

All in all we are extremely happy with this and hope to get many trouble free miles out of it.

Flattop

2017tahoe.jpg

Congrats!

We bought our 17 in March. 14k on ours now. I also have not experienced any issues and my wife loves hers.

I agree with you on the headlights. They suck. Also hate how the Intellibeam decides to flash oncomers when it cant quite see them. Makes me feel like an @$$. Also when the Lane Keep Assist jerks me around because I forgot to signal when changing lanes. Pretty small complaints, and I can turn them off if I want.

Your mileage may still improve. We get around 17 in town, also with 3.08. Easily get over 21 on the highway at 55-60 mph. A four lane at 70+ will take it down to 20-21 mpg. Only use 87 octane Top Tier gas.

Enjoy the ride!

10 minutes ago, martha3065 said:

Congrats!

We bought our 17 in March. 14k on ours now. I also have not experienced any issues and my wife loves hers.