2009 6.0L AFM delete

Tunnelgas

Question

Good afternoon.  First post to thread.  Thanks in advance for any assistance and guidance.

A little background...my apologies in advance if I do not explain everything properly as I am not a mechanic...rather a tinkerer with what I would like to think is some common sense and understanding.

I have a 2009 Suburban 1500LTZ 4x4 with a 6.0L.  It has 160,000 miles give or take and has been an excellent vehicle for our family.  At around 150,000 miles it dropped a lifter.  At that time, I pulled it down and replaced just the one lifter, put it back together and it ran fine for about 10,000 miles until it recently lost another lifter.  

I spoke to an engine shop around town and they suggested that I should have gone ahead and replaced all of the lifters and the cam when I pulled it down the first time and that I should do that now.  They also suggested I do away with the AFM.  I did a little research and found that some had done this with good success.  I reached back out to the engine shop and they indicated that they sold a kit for this.  The kit included new replacement valley plates, new LS7 solid lifters, etc.  I confirmed with them that a stock cam could be installed and I ordered that directly from Chevy.  I also ordered a new oil pump.