Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

CB radio electrical installation


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
7 replies to this topic

#1 Kayaker

Kayaker

    Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 227 posts
  • Location:Michigan
  • Gender:Male

Posted 23 December 2003 - 03:07 PM

Just about ready to install my new CB radio (cobra 18WX ST 11). I'm planning on splicing into my electrical system to power it, there's three wires; a ground, one to be connected to a switched source (such as the radio), and one to be connected to an un-switched source (such as the brake lights). Any suggestions on the easiest way to do this? I have a '95 chevy 1500, and by the looks of it I'm probably going to have to take off the dash (fun).
2007 LT2 Silverado Classic Ext, Oynx Black, 5.3L, Z71

Extras - On board air compressor & receiver tank, 1000W 12-to-120V inverter, dual battery system, Westin 'wheel to wheel' nerf bars, BakFlip G2 cover, CB w/ firestik, bunch of other stuff...

My Garage

#2 traxion

traxion

    Enthusiast

  • Newbie
  • 54 posts
  • Location:Texas

Posted 23 December 2003 - 06:55 PM

Shouldnt be to bad. What I usually do is splice into the radio for the constant 12V and the switced source. Also you can do the ground there too. I have seen a few run the 12V straight to the battery. You can run it to the fuse box. thats an option. Like I said the radio is how I go for all that. As far as color of the wires on the radio goes you will have to get a chilton or a haynes to get that info. Hope this sheds some light.

:thumbs:
Calib
2001 GMC Z-71 Sierra

"Never underestimate the power of the human stupidity."

Phil 4:13

#3 c4cruiser

c4cruiser

    Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 846 posts
  • Name:George
  • Location:Lacey, WA
  • Gender:Male
  • Drives:08 Black Silverado Z71 6.0

Posted 23 December 2003 - 09:18 PM

Just about ready to install my new CB radio (cobra 18WX ST 11). I'm planning on splicing into my electrical system to power it, there's three wires; a ground, one to be connected to a switched source (such as the radio), and one to be connected to an un-switched source (such as the brake lights). Any suggestions on the easiest way to do this? I have a '95 chevy 1500, and by the looks of it I'm probably going to have to take off the dash (fun).

Unswitched source can be the cigarette lighter (disconnect it altogether if you don't smoke) and the radio power lead can be the switched source.

Does the fuse box have a spade tap that you can use for switched or unswitched power? Usually they are right next to a fuse and the tap is verticle. Check with a voltmeter to see which are switched or unswitched.
George

08 Black Silverado LTZ Z71 Ext. Cab VortecMax 6.0 StabiliTrak
87 Gold Vette Coupe
02 Electron Blue Vette coupe supercharged

#4 k1500chevy97

k1500chevy97

    Enthusiast

  • Banned
  • 1 posts
  • Location:Not Here

Posted 23 December 2003 - 09:27 PM

Unknown if your 95 is similar to my 97 but on my truck there is a fuse block right behind the ecm on the drivers side fender under the hood that has two studs that are constantly powered .
I ran my wires for my cb , scanner, power inverter, and 2way off of those 2 studs and ran the wires throuigh the firewall .
Banned

#5 EXJAY

EXJAY

    Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 151 posts
  • Location:Myrtle Beach, SC

Posted 24 December 2003 - 03:22 PM

tap in off your radio fuse at the fuse block so it only gets power
when the ignition is on. never seen one w/ three wires to connect though

#6 dragoneye42

dragoneye42

    Enthusiast

  • Newbie
  • 1 posts

Posted 28 December 2003 - 12:47 PM

Easiest thing to do is go to Radio Shack and buy a connector that plugs into one of your "cigarette lighter" jacks. Solder the wires to the connector and plug it in. All done. This way when you are jumping in your jumping into your friends Scion you can have some fun and bring your CB with you :fume:
Or just hard wire it in with the radio....

out

#7 drumset5994

drumset5994

    Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 574 posts
  • Location:Buffalo, NY
  • Gender:Male

Posted 14 March 2006 - 01:39 PM

The only thing i miss about my S10, was the block right on the fender. It had 4 bolts...2 were constant 12v, the other were switched. You could crimp wire loops to your accessories and hook them to the studs, then tighten the nut down...simple engineering by GM. I loved it. It was like, the truck was MADE to add accessories.
"Tits Tits and More Tits...Next At 11"

#8 opsbear7

opsbear7

    Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 372 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 14 March 2006 - 07:28 PM

Questoin for you guys...while we are kinda on the electrical side of things...

If i hook up a Cb to the same 12V that the radio uses...is there any way to "overload" that circuit....
Posted Image




Advertise Here