Photo
- - - - -

lp conversion

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
13 replies to this topic

#1 reem

reem

Enthusiast

• 2 posts

Posted 13 September 2005 - 08:31 AM

I have a 2003 2500hd 6.0 and was considering converting it to run of lp. Any info on this would be appreciated. I don't even know how feasible it even is. Just curious if anyone has looked into it. thanks

#2 Roofer

Roofer

Senior Enthusiast

• 1,710 posts

Posted 14 September 2005 - 05:03 PM

Welcome to the board. :chevy:
I've heard of a local guy in my area that has a LP conversion on his 8.1.
I don't know what it consists of, but I know it is possible. This guy's family owns a propane dealer, so he gets a discount on it. I have heard from some people better mileage and some say worse mileage. I have no first hand experience. I would think that refueling may be a pain though.
'09 RAM 3500 CUMMINS 4x4 SLT Bighorn QC LWB SRW, Mopar step bars, Prodigy controller, Access cover
'02 2500HD CC SB Duramax/Allison 4x4 (SOLD)
'00 F550 4x4 PSD w/roll off dumpsters
'09 Polaris Sportsman XP 850 stealth

#3 Jester4736w

Jester4736w

Enthusiast

• 165 posts

Posted 14 September 2005 - 07:05 PM

I would also like to find out more about this conversion... What about power, would I lose some?

#4 dannyukonxl

dannyukonxl

Enthusiast

• 383 posts

Posted 14 September 2005 - 07:56 PM

i think the mileage and horsepower will remain the same, just the engine will run far more efficiently on less fuel. its a totally feasible idea just the availability of fill up stations is very low :chevy:
[font="Optima"]2004 Yukon XL 2500 SLT 4x4 8.1, 3.73

#5 Haulin' 8.1

Haulin' 8.1

Enthusiast

• 670 posts

Posted 14 September 2005 - 09:12 PM