Duramax Throttle Response

I'm new to the world of diesel trucks. Just got my '06 Duramax Crew (used with 23000 on it). I notice that the throttle response is very slow. If I floor it when I'm cruising down the road it takes forever to take off. Also, I notice when I start from a stop it has a hesitation just after it starts to go. This truck also runs poorly when it's cold which I suspect is normal. Are these other problems inherant with these trucks or do I need to get my truck in to the shop.

I thought maybe the diesel I was buying may have been the problem but I've purchased it at several stations and nothing changes. Any advice would be appreciated.

The older generations of the Duramax had varying degrees of "turbo lag" which is why I didn't buy one. Most of the 2006s have the LBZ engine and every LBZ I've driven had no lag at all...the instant response was right there!!!

I would have to think that there is some sort of problem with the truck. Might check the fuel filter and have the selling dealer give it a general going over. Hey, they sold it, they made the money, they should make it right.

My friend, the 2006 LBZ is an absolute animal. When you step on the pedal, it lays you back in the seat and totally hauls asssssss. Something is wrong.

Steve

My '05 Dmax pulls OK from idle but when it hit's 1800-2200 RPM you'd better hang on! On the road the RPM's are right where you need them, so a little throttle just sets you back in your seat with no downshifting.

When it is cold outside, the Dmax isn't much of a performer until it gets up to operating temps (which could take 10 miles or so).

If the fuel filter has never been changed, then it is likely due to be done. I just had the dealer change mine with just 10K miles on it, but it was the original and was 2 years old. According to the DIC, I copuld have gone another year (5K miles), but I figured I would have it changed.

Since the truck is under warranty, I would ask the dealer about it.