5.3 Internal Coolant Loss

morrismd

Question

HELP!

I have a 1999 Silverado Z71 with a 5.3 that has slowly been losing coolant for about two years. I have had to add about one pint dexcool between regular oil changes.

Last month, at appx 75,000 miles, the low coolant light came on again and it was appx two quarts low this time after only going 500 miles from topping off coolant.

I am now seeing coolant inside the oil fill cap, not butterscotchy, but defenitely coolant.

I am suspecting intake or head gasket failure. Have there been problems with these or should I dig deeper. I added a small bottle of "BarsLeak" and this has temporarily solved the problem, but im not into rinky dink fixes. I am a mechanic by trade, but the 5.3 is a mystery to me, as I work on diesel rigs.

Any ideas to steer my in the right direction would be appreciated.

Or do I buy that new Toyota now?

0 answers to this question

There is a new design head gasket (dual shim), its probably the head gaskets since there is very little other places it could come from

HELP!

I have a 1999 Silverado Z71 with a 5.3 that has slowly been losing coolant for about two years. I have had to add about one pint dexcool between regular oil changes.

Last month, at appx 75,000 miles, the low coolant light came on again and it was appx two quarts low this time after only going 500 miles from topping off coolant.

I am now seeing coolant inside the oil fill cap, not butterscotchy, but defenitely coolant.

I am suspecting intake or head gasket failure. Have there been problems with these or should I dig deeper. I added a small bottle of "BarsLeak" and this has temporarily solved the problem, but im not into rinky dink fixes. I am a mechanic by trade, but the 5.3 is a mystery to me, as I work on diesel rigs.

HELP!