E-85 Refueling Events

I am going to start a little thread on E-85 compatible vehicle refueling and hope on of the admin's will pinn it. The refuel info should be in your owners manual but I'm going to explain why. Improper fueling events cause hard starts, missfires, rich or lean codes and in extreme conditions can cause a no start. As a technician I have seen a bunch of problems created by improper fueling. If a tech hasn't been burned by it a few times checking your content may be last on his list creating comebacks and unhappy customers. This applies to all GM E-85 compatible vehicles built 2005 to present and a few built before that, they all use the same refueling procedure.

The first GM vehicles that were E-85 compatible used a fuel content sensor that measured fuel content as it was being used. This was a very efficent way to measure content but the sensor also needed to be a computer to do some major calculating on the fly. As a result they were about $400 a piece. GM decided to go the way of most other manufacturers to cut costs and do away with the sensor and go to a learn algorithm. It is very efficent as long as refueling is done properly. I wish we would make salespeople go over the procedure to head problems off at the pass but that's another story alltogeather.