Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

How Do I Wire A Line Out Converter?


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 gnet158

gnet158

    Senior Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 1,004 posts
  • Location:CA

Posted 16 November 2008 - 03:51 AM

I want to add the mono amp and '10 infinity sub from my old truck into my new truck. I want to keep the factory H/U so I need to install a LOC. I've searched this forum and found that a few members recommend the PAC Trunck-LOC because it has the remote on feature.

I have a few questions.


1, What exactly do I need to connect the 3-4 wires to on this unit? I've installed an Alpine/amp/sub on my old truck so comfortable with wiring.
2. Where do I pass the amps power cable through? Is the rubber grommet in the same spot as in the older trucks? This is what I used before.
3. How do I remove the trim around the radio to get to the harness?
4. What gauge wire do you recommend? 6 or 8?

Thanks!
2012 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 4x4 Crew Cab 5.3: V8
All Star Edition
Extang Solid Fold cover
Line-X

Posted Image

#2 jzizzo

jzizzo

    Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 26 posts
  • Location:Illinios
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 November 2008 - 02:29 PM

here are the answers to your questions:

1: to connect the loc (line output converter) you need to remove the dash and remove the headunit. splice into the the rear speakers left and right
LR Speaker +/- brown= + yellow= -
RR Speaker +/- dk. blue= + lt. blue= -

2: You can run the power wire from the front and send it through in the rubber that conceals the wires on the passenger side door. (ribbed rubber sock thing) ive done that for my 2007 silverado and my friends 2008 silverado

3: To remove the plastic trim around the radio you start from the top right near the passenger seat and just pull that out and just work your way around.

4: 8 gauge wire is fine + less powerful amps dont have big enough inputs for bigger wire

Hope this helps

#3 gnet158

gnet158

    Senior Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 1,004 posts
  • Location:CA

Posted 16 November 2008 - 05:11 PM

here are the answers to your questions:

1: to connect the loc (line output converter) you need to remove the dash and remove the headunit. splice into the the rear speakers left and right
LR Speaker +/- brown= + yellow= -
RR Speaker +/- dk. blue= + lt. blue= -

2: You can run the power wire from the front and send it through in the rubber that conceals the wires on the passenger side door. (ribbed rubber sock thing) ive done that for my 2007 silverado and my friends 2008 silverado

3: To remove the plastic trim around the radio you start from the top right near the passenger seat and just pull that out and just work your way around.

4: 8 gauge wire is fine + less powerful amps dont have big enough inputs for bigger wire

Hope this helps



Than answered all my question!

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!

:lol:
2012 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 4x4 Crew Cab 5.3: V8
All Star Edition
Extang Solid Fold cover
Line-X

Posted Image

#4 jzizzo

jzizzo

    Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 26 posts
  • Location:Illinios
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 November 2008 - 08:22 PM

no problem

#5 thunderstruck

thunderstruck

    Senior Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 2,228 posts
  • Name:Kyle
  • Location:Texas
  • Gender:Male
  • Drives:2006 Avalanche, 1995 Silverado

Posted 16 November 2008 - 10:44 PM

4. What gauge wire do you recommend? 6 or 8?

What is the total rating of the fuses in the amp?

2: You can run the power wire from the front and send it through in the rubber that conceals the wires on the passenger side door. (ribbed rubber sock thing) ive done that for my 2007 silverado and my friends 2008 silverado

Through the door jamb? Not a great idea.

#6 gnet158

gnet158

    Senior Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 1,004 posts
  • Location:CA

Posted 17 November 2008 - 01:22 AM

The amp has two 20 what amp fuses, it's a 100W mono amp.

Why do you think it's a bad idea running the amp's power cable thru the doors? Do you have a better way for me to run it to the battery?
2012 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 4x4 Crew Cab 5.3: V8
All Star Edition
Extang Solid Fold cover
Line-X

Posted Image

#7 thunderstruck

thunderstruck

    Senior Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 2,228 posts
  • Name:Kyle
  • Location:Texas
  • Gender:Male
  • Drives:2006 Avalanche, 1995 Silverado

Posted 17 November 2008 - 01:28 AM

The amp has two 20 what amp fuses, it's a 100W mono amp.

Just making sure. You can use 8 gauge wire like jzizzo said, but you might want to consider thicker wiring if you think you might upgrade later on.

Why do you think it's a bad idea running the amp's power cable thru the doors? Do you have a better way for me to run it to the battery?

Good way for the wire to get pinched. Drill a hole in the firewall and use a rubber grommet if you have to.

BTW, you don't have Bose do you?

Edited by thunderstruck, 17 November 2008 - 01:31 AM.


#8 gnet158

gnet158

    Senior Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 1,004 posts
  • Location:CA

Posted 17 November 2008 - 12:20 PM

Nope, just the stock radio.


Thanks for the info, I'll keep that in mind.
2012 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 4x4 Crew Cab 5.3: V8
All Star Edition
Extang Solid Fold cover
Line-X

Posted Image

#9 jzizzo

jzizzo

    Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 26 posts
  • Location:Illinios
  • Gender:Male

Posted 17 November 2008 - 06:00 PM

it definitely isnt going to get pinched. this guy is wrong. i have 4 gauge wireing going through that way and for my friend i ran 1/0 wiring the same way. guess what.. no pinching

if you need to see it i can take pictures

Edited by jzizzo, 17 November 2008 - 06:02 PM.


#10 gnet158

gnet158

    Senior Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 1,004 posts
  • Location:CA

Posted 18 November 2008 - 12:28 AM

it definitely isnt going to get pinched. this guy is wrong. i have 4 gauge wireing going through that way and for my friend i ran 1/0 wiring the same way. guess what.. no pinching

if you need to see it i can take pictures



That would be great!
2012 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 4x4 Crew Cab 5.3: V8
All Star Edition
Extang Solid Fold cover
Line-X

Posted Image

#11 EM6788

EM6788

    Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 119 posts
  • Location:San Antonio, Yexas
  • Gender:Male

Posted 18 November 2008 - 11:35 AM

The amp has two 20 what amp fuses, it's a 100W mono amp.

Just making sure. You can use 8 gauge wire like jzizzo said, but you might want to consider thicker wiring if you think you might upgrade later on.

Why do you think it's a bad idea running the amp's power cable thru the doors? Do you have a better way for me to run it to the battery?

Good way for the wire to get pinched. Drill a hole in the firewall and use a rubber grommet if you have to.

BTW, you don't have Bose do you?



You don't need to use a bigger wire...your amp is only a 100 watts you could use speaker wire to power that
8 gauge is fine
thats what i use to power my 1000w mono block amp

and like jzizzo the small amps don't have big enough terminals for a bigger gauge

i ran my power cable from the bat across the top of the fire wall and then through the firewall where there are already holes drilled on the driver side

#12 thunderstruck

thunderstruck

    Senior Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 2,228 posts
  • Name:Kyle
  • Location:Texas
  • Gender:Male
  • Drives:2006 Avalanche, 1995 Silverado

Posted 18 November 2008 - 05:24 PM

You don't need to use a bigger wire...your amp is only a 100 watts you could use speaker wire to power that
8 gauge is fine
thats what i use to power my 1000w mono block amp

and like jzizzo the small amps don't have big enough terminals for a bigger gauge

Are you serious, speaker wire?? I didn't say he had to use anything thicker than 8 gauge, I just mentioned that it might be a good idea to run thicker wire now in case he would ever get a bigger amp.

Edited by thunderstruck, 18 November 2008 - 05:46 PM.


#13 jzizzo

jzizzo

    Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 26 posts
  • Location:Illinios
  • Gender:Male

Posted 18 November 2008 - 08:56 PM

thunderstuck does have a point about running the bigger gauge now if your amp can use it now. and ill upload pics tomorrow when i get done with school

#14 EM6788

EM6788

    Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 119 posts
  • Location:San Antonio, Yexas
  • Gender:Male

Posted 18 November 2008 - 10:52 PM

thunderstuck does have a point about running the bigger gauge now if your amp can use it now. and ill upload pics tomorrow when i get done with school



lol yeah ive done it

sry i didn;t mean to put you down

but an 8 guage is plenty even for a bigger amp

im running a 1000watt mono block d class
no prob




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users