Disabling Stabilitrak

Hi there. I am new to this webpage. I have had 4 GM trucks over the last 10 years and just ordered a new 2014 All Terrain Sierra. I currently have a 2010 Chev 1500 and loved it but with putting 180,000 km on in only three years, it is starting to cost more for repairs than it is worth. My experiment of not trading it off at two years and 120,000km to see of repairs would be cheaper than depreciation has not worked.

I normally will not buy anything the first year of a big make over but decided this time to give it a try :)

I discovered during a test drive that, like previous versions, you can disable the traction control and stabilitrak but at 56km per hour, it automatically comes back on. I was excited to get the new model but this frustrates me. I don't need my truck to drive for me. I enjoy steering with the gas pedal in the winter and always shut the TC and stabilocrap off everytime I get in the truck.

Has anyone figured out a way to disable it so it won't come back on automatically? I don't mind having to do it every time I start the truck even.

Is this something a tuner can fix?

I have been reading posts on this site for a few days now and haven't seen this topic anywhere so I thought I would sign up and ask.

Thank you in advance.

I know that with my 'Vette, if you pushed & held the traction control button for 10 seconds, it would shut the system off completely (except ABS, which could not be disabled other than by pulling the ABS fuse). Not sure if the trucks would allow you to push & hold the TC button to disable the system or not?? (.........if I had my truck yet, I'd go try it out and tell you! :D).

^ ^ Gotcha. Ok, that's dumb!!

So what that means is, you can still roast the rear tires off, but in a straight line only. Don't try to crank the wheel and do a donut?!