Air Filter time: AC or Napa Gold

I drive a lot. I have 24,xxx on my truck. My next oil change will be here in about 3 months. My factory AC delco air filter will need replacing at the next LOF. Any preferences between the two? The AC in my truck now looks pretty paper-ish. the NAPA Gold's from prevoius vehicles looked thicker and more fuzzier. Just an observation. These are the only two I'm opting to run.

Napa gold is Wix, right? Wait, maybe that's only for oil filters.

Sent from Tapatalk App - Samsung S6

^ Yes.... something like that. Napa has a silver and gold. the gold is WIX. I can get the AC Delco filter from Ebay shipped to my house for $22. the Napa Gold is $19. Only 3 dollar difference. So I'm looking more at quality of filter vs price. I drive a lot per year, and am on construction sites daily. So getting a filter that 1- filters very well and 2- lasts a while are my main priority. Not price. Both are basically $20.

I'm not an expert either but in my brief time searching the internet about this issue, I found an article that talked about filter tests and how the AC Delco out performed all other filters in the test. I'm not sure if Napa Gold was one of the ones tested or not though. I've decided to stick with AC Delco since it seems to test well, is built well, and came on the truck originally.

Count the pleats. If the pleat count is less, the total filter area will be less. An example is the K&N drop in. It has no where near the pleat count the AC filter has. Filter area is more related to how long it will go before being restricted by debris, not how well it filters.

I don't know anything about Wix air filters either. Maybe someone can chime in with some information/data.

Edit:

I stumbled onto this thread on BITOG http://www.bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ubbthreads.php/topics/1759962/2