Silverado Vibration Makes News

I bet ten bucks the 2019's are going to be vibrators to. They keep trying to make every part lighter, thinner, stiffer ect , this and sourcing parts from too many vendors with poor quality control issues. I used to be a plant manager at a textile company and I can guarantee you that our QC was 100% better before we went thru our ISO 9000 certification. There is probably not just one problem causing all our vibe issues, but a millimeter here on this part, an ounce difference on that part, a "whatever" there on the next thing... well you get the idea. All these very minor variances which can all be in spec for each part in itself can add up to just enough to cause problems.

2a252085892a9789e8d657c7117bc1be01f5d73c

• Like 4

The problem is they are not going to buy 200,000 truck owners a new replacement $500 drive shaft unless it is a safety concern. 200k x 500 = $100,000,000 plus labour. Until these driveshafts start coming apart at high-speed and kill a few people, it will be our responsibility to fix it. My 2015 is fine, but I just bought a 2014 WT that does it fiercely, the highway to my house is pulverised (ground up) right now so when I test drove the truck for two days it was undetectable. Now on a highway trip I noticed it is almost unbearable when passing vehicles. I will be getting a machine shop to check the shafts balance and trueness. I laughed because I thought I was a lucky one, now I am in the same boat as all you guys, at least its just a beater work/winter truck.