Towing discrepancy with 6.2l 3.42 rear diff

Hey everyone, new to the forum and id appreciate a little insight into towing capability between the 2014 sierra/silverado 6.2l with 3.42 (9400lbs) and the comparable 2017 6.2l with max tow 3.42 (11,700). I know it now has 8 spd and new j28 regs were encorporated in 2015 but really is there that much difference in these trucks (2300lbs)? I am looking now to purchase a truck and maybe a 28-30ft travel trailer in the next year or so and I don't want to be limited to a handful of paper thin models. I'm fairly new to towing something that big and I want to be sure the truck can handle it. Also considering a 5.3l with 3.42 and 6spd but I'm thinking that will really limit my options (9100lbs). All trucks are crew std box 4x4. If anyone has any insight on this or experience towing with any of these then please chirp in. Maybe im being too hard on the little 5.3l??

Yes, the gearing has all to do with it. 8 speed has much steeper gears 1-5 vs. the 6 speed. For the 6 speed to equate in towing, you need more gears. Now, if the 2014 6.2 was a max trailer, it would have 3.73 gears, and 11,700 towing, give or take 100-300lbs depending on body style.

As for travel trailer, you have to consider dry weight, wet weight, how much stuff you will be putting in it, tongue weight, etc. You can overload a 1/2 ton truck really fast as payloads are much lower than a 3/4 ton truck. You may find yourself having to look for a light weight trailer.

Edited by 15HDriver
  • Like 1