73 K10 trouble starting, no fuel? Help!

I'm new here. My Dad passed away and I got his old 73 chevy truck.  I have zero knowledge of carburetor engines. For as long as I can remember it has always had trouble starting. We always had to climb up in the motor and pour some gas down the top of the carb to get it to start. I know my dad had the carb rebuilt and that didn't fix it. He took it to another mechanic that just replaced stuff. Fuel Pump , fuel filter, fuel lines I believe; and that didn't fix the problem. The truck will start right up if it only sits for a few days; leave it set for longer than a week, forget it, it won't start.    

I think the last mechanic said fuel pressure was good, he adjusted the choke?. He said you may have to pump the gas pedal 6 or 7 times but it always started for him but he never let it sit very long either and then tried to start it.  

is this a common problem with letting a carb engine set for weeks?
Any ideas anyone?

Thank you ahead of time.

How many miles?

Good compression?

Runs good after started?

The choke mechanism could be out of adjustment.

What's your procedure for a cold start?

Pump gas pedal all the way to the floor to set choke.

If it's the original carb you may want  replace it.

Read  trouble shooting carbs.

http://www.aa1car.com/library/carburetor.htm

http://www.thecarburetorshop.com/Troubleshooting.htm

:)