Afternoon all and hope y'all are having a good weekend.

I recently (2 weeks ago) purchased a 2018 Sierra 2500 HD with the diesel engine. I must admit I am new to the diesel world and have questions regarding oil changes. I prefer to do my own oil changes and am used to changing the oil for gas engines. I would change my oil every 12k miles as the oil manufacturer recommended. For my new 6.6 Duramax, how often should I change the oil (aka miles and/or months), what oil would one recommend, and what filter should I go with? I want to make sure I do this right to avoid voiding warranties and making sure my truck lasts as long as it can.

Thank you in advance, answers and recommendations are greatly appreciated.

Many of us duramax owners tended to go off of the oil life monitor or would go every 8000 miles.  Oil wise, the most popular choices were the Mobil and Shell Rotella but most major brands will get you by just fine.  Use a premium filter.   I like the NAPA line (Wix) Gold or Platnium.  

Some decent reading here:

http://www.duramaxforum.com/forum/maintenance/139850-what-best-oil-6-6-duramax.html

Change your fuel filter about every 10,000-15,000 miles as well.  I also use the NAPA fuel filters. 

Tranny spin on filter (external) every 15,000 miles.  Allison or NAPA. 

Go check in with the folks over on duramaxforum.com and continue to check in here as well. 

Edited by Colossus

While it is not testing the oil itself, the OLM does tend to be reasonably accurate.  GM's OLM is one of the best in the industry, in fact.  That being said-  I would do your first oil change at 2000 miles, then go to the longer interval.  Also plan on changing out your front and rear diff at about 5000-10000 miles as well, it will be worth it, trust me. 

All good info posted above.  Going 8k on an oil change is good as well.  With all the emission equipment on these diesels now, there is more of a likeliness of fuel getting into the oil.