90’s Tahoe as a First Car?

I’ve been browsing around looking for a car of my own. One of the vehicles I’ve been considering is a first gen 90’s Tahoe or Yukon. I’ve always liked the styling and I hear they are pretty reliable. Especially the 350 used on these and the pickups (Were there any other engines available for these aside from the 350 and the turbo diesel? I’m no expert by any means when it comes to trucks). The only thing about it is fuel economy. Other than that, would you recommend it as a first?

Nope, 350 was standard on the Yukon/Tahoe.  You can't go wrong.  Very solid vehicles.  I would recommend it as a first but have it gone over by an independent repair facility for a pre purchase inspection BEFORE you purchase the vehicle.  Trannies were generally good to 150,000-200,000 miles so long as they were serviced at the proper intervals. 

• Like 1

I’ve been browsing around looking for a car of my own. One of the vehicles I’ve been considering is a first gen 90’s Tahoe or Yukon. I’ve always liked the styling and I hear they are pretty reliable. Especially the 350 used on these and the pickups (Were there any other engines available for these aside from the 350 and the turbo diesel? I’m no expert by any means when it comes to trucks). The only thing about it is fuel economy. Other than that, would you recommend it as a first?

I’d be very cautious, my 96 was a pc of junk, I special ordered the 2-door sport package Z71 and aside of water leaking inside every time it rained, exterior front end rattled and worst was the transmission, replaced twice! They looked cool but, ownership was not a good one for me. Traded it in for a new land cruiser, that was an awesome vehicle.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk