I admit it; I'm a heavy footed driver. I'm not in a hurry to get anywhere, I just like gowing fast. I have a 2015 C7 Stingray also with the 6.2L engine. 

So, I drove my brand new 2019 GMC Dark Sky Metallic AT4 from Chehalis, WA to Bridgeport, CT for the project I'm currently working on. The best gas mileage I could get was 15.6mpg! There's gotta be something wrong. When I drove it off the lot my buddy who was following said he'd seen an excessive amount of smoke coming out of the dual exhaust. I drove it the 75 miles to the house and it did not appear to happen again. Nor have I noticed any smoke since.

I'm going to take it to the dealership here in CT and have them look at it "For the record", and I'd like any input you all may have. 

The 2018 Chevy Silverado LTZ I sold to buy this truck had the same 6.2L with an 8 spd tranny (AT4 has 10spd), and I drive this the same as I did that truck, but the LTZ got a steady 19.5mpg if not 21-22. What gives? My AT4 has dual exhaust,  a cold air intake, 20" tires with dual purpose tires (This may cause a drop).

LTZ-AT4.jpg

• BigEdB changed the title to AT4 6.2L Poor Gas Mileage

The first 100 or so miles in my trail boss the mileage sucked. After the first fill up and reset of the mileage calculator it got significantly better. Are you calculating the economy yourself or just going off the display?

It’s a lifted truck with a 6.2 liter. It’s not going to be great. You can wipe  two miles per gallon off for the lift alone.

My 6.2 AT4 with the Duratracs gets 13.5 around town and 18 mpg at most on the highway.

A friends ‘19 6.2 Denali is getting roughly 2 mpg above both of the numbers I’ve seen.

The lift kills the aerodynamics.

Are any of you using Auto Stop/Start to measure the mileage? Have you compared both with and without Auto S/S on same road, length and weather conditions? Highway or off-road prolly not gonna matter much but city with some combo driving is what I do most. 

14 hours ago, BigEdB said: