Oil Pressure

Hi everyone,

I am new to the Silverado community and just purchased my 2015 Silverado Z71 4x4 Crew Cab w/ the 5.3L a few weeks ago.  I love the truck but a little concerned about the oil pressure.  I understand that these trucks require 0w20 oil and have a new two-stage oil pump which I am sure contributes to this, but after a long drive and letting the truck idle for an extended period of time, my oil pressure will drop all the way to 20 psi.  Is this normal for these trucks?

As info, the truck has 53,000 miles on it.

Thanks!

Often times oil pressure is thought to be higher than it needs to be. 20 PSI may be what is required on your 5.3. May have to look that up to confirm. Every SBC i have built in the past was from 20-40 PSI fresh.

I remember when Cummins came out with the ISX in large semi trucks. I had people coming in because the oil pressure was lower than they felt comfortable. When looking up the spec minimum operating oil Pressure Hot was 9 PSI. But they did not have Hydraulic lifters, so that was ok.

1 hour ago, jwood0507 said:

Hi everyone,

I am new to the Silverado community and just purchased my 2015 Silverado Z71 4x4 Crew Cab w/ the 5.3L a few weeks ago.  I love the truck but a little concerned about the oil pressure.  I understand that these trucks require 0w20 oil and have a new two-stage oil pump which I am sure contributes to this, but after a long drive and letting the truck idle for an extended period of time, my oil pressure will drop all the way to 20 psi.  Is this normal for these trucks?

As info, the truck has 53,000 miles on it.

Thanks!

Yup, your perfectly fine!  Once it's moving on light throttle it's 30-40psi from what the dang gauge says?  Take it with salt though the gauge?

• Like 1

Mine acts the same way.  When everything is warmed up, at idle I'm just over 20psi on the gauge.  Driving around with steady throttle, I'm just over 40psi on the gauge.  Flooring it, it goes up to 60psi or so.