02 Yukon 5.3L Shifting Issue

CharlesOwnby

Question

I’ve got a issue that just started last night. I was driving home, pulled from a red light and engine revved pretty hard before shifting. That repeated all the way home. Every time I slowed down to 1st gear and had to start again it would repeat. When it did shift I didn’t feel any other gears change, just the one change. Part of this trip was on the interstate and at 65 MPH the RPM was about 2500. Trying to figure out if I have a speed sensor problem of some type issue not telling it when to shift or if I’ve got an actual tranny problem. I have very little mechanical knowledge and it’s my first GM vehicle I’ve ever owned for about 3 mos now. Also I did figure out when the RPM gets to right at where it should shift, I can let off and tap the gas and it’ll shift much sooner and smoother than if I just stayed in the gas. Also noticed the oil pressure increased when pressing the gas from about 40 to 60. Don’t know if this is normal but I’d never noticed it before. Maybe only noticed it due to being particularly observant cause I was having issue.

Also, separate questions, I got a check engine light a few weeks ago saying something about both main banks. Shop said it’s most likely vacuum leak somewhere. Previous owner is very knowledgeable and said to change O2 sensors and probably was not a vacuum leak. Any advice on this as well?

Thanks.

Edited by CharlesOwnby

3 answers to this question