6.6 LML Duramax vs 6.0 Vortec Musings

Since I have benefited from and have sincerely appreciated many of the valuable posts on this forum, I thought I would share my experience with gas vs diesel GM trucks.  As a little background, I am not a mechanic or engineer.  I have a farm and construction background and work in a seasonal climate in the Midwest.  I have owned many different makes and models of both gas and diesel cars, trucks and heavy equipment – mostly John Deere and Caterpillar.  

I started out many years ago with gas engines (first was a 400 small block in a 78 GMC) and have primarily owned GMC or Chevrolet, but also have had a couple of Ford trucks and a Toyota Tundra.  I have very little experience with Ford diesels except for one 88 Ford with the 7.3 diesel.  I have had several 6.0 gas motors and five different Duramax diesels – a 2003, 2007, 2008, 2012 and 2015. 

My comments here focus on the recent differences that I have noticed between the 6.0 Vortec and the 6.6 LML Duramax.  I am not writing this to stir the pot or to make anyone angry – but rather, to share my experiences and thoughts about the subject.

As background, I recently owned a 2012 6.6 Duramax that I recently sold with around 110k miles and then purchased a 2014 6.0 Vortec flex fuel.  I liked the idea of being able to pump ethanol or E85 and have one local station that sells E85; I also like supporting the farm economy, but I am not wanting to debate the emissions issues related to ethanol – it’s too political for this forum – smile!.  I also recently purchased a 2015 6.6 LML Duramax.     

I will admit up front that I have a diesel bias.  I have been around diesel engines since I was a kid and enjoy how they operate and the extra torque they generate.  With that said, I also know that the gas engines can play a vital role in many situations.