Advertising referring to malware websites

Hello long time lurker long time reader. I typically use Safari without adblockers on websites I would like to support. I went to navigate the website originally to lookup a repair I am working on. The very first thread I clicked on sent me to a website with a bogus download for flash which is loaded with malware. I also tried to click on the register link and it sent me to another page with malware. I can confirm my device has no issues as I work in IT and this is a machine with a clean install and not one download/install. I will attach pictures. I ended up having to use Brave browser which incorporates strict adblocking along with adblock extensions because the malware links are too much. spacer.pngspacer.png

Edited by fixit7

I don't have any issues (knock on wood) with the tapatalk pro app I use for all my forums on the internet.

I'd definitely make the mods aware of this so maybe they can do something about this. They probably need to install a CAPTCHA so it knows a real person is posting and also put a notice in the top of their web page explaining that if there's not a captcha that they need to not click certain things.

Those who are running this site should be making it safe. Don't spend a ton of time on here but it would make me spend less time.

Sent from my SM-N975U1 using Tapatalk

The problem isn't posts with spam or malware, it's with the ads.  Adding a captcha does nothing to help.

It's that malware pays a fraction of a penny more than legit ads, and I'm sure it's worse right now, with legit advertising way down, making that much cheaper for malware to get pushed.

Edited by davester

1 hour ago, davester said:

The problem isn't posts with spam or malware, it's with the ads.  Adding a captcha doesn't nothing to help.