2022 2500 gasser exhaust sound

To start with, I love the way the factory exhaust sounds.  Looking at that heavy ass muffler, I keep wanting to change it out.  I could careless about duel tips or anything like that.  I was just wanting to rid my truck of that giant 55 gallon drum of an exhaust...lol......So I like the factory sound and do not want anymore noise coming from it.  Having said that, a deeper sound would be amazing but I don't want any drone.  Perhaps a deeper note that won't drive you nuts when towing a trailer for 12 hours a day?  Not that I do that for a living, I'm just worried about changing it out with something that will drive me and my wife nuts when towing our camper.  Any advice is truly appreciated.

8 hours ago, NaturallyAspirated said:

We have a lot in common. I think the GM stock sound on these gas trucks is perfect.

My old 2012 1500 had a Corsa exhaust and was extremely happy with it, no drone, a little bit louder than stock on the Highway, no drone. Maybe check them out.

Thanks for the idea, I'll have to look and see what they offer.

I think there is a company called black horse . They make stainless steel high flow oem style mufflers for the 3/4 ton and one ton gassers. The muffler is large though  it is high flow large diameter internals no packing and quiet like stock. I ran across them one day on eBay motors when I was searching for a center console. 

• Like 1

• 4 weeks later...
56 minutes ago, Randal Scott said:

I'm looking at these on Amazon. 

Walker 21470 - 3.5 inch inlet and outlet 

Tolalflow - 22421 and AP Exhaust  - XS2772  These are 4 inch inlet/outlet. They are straight though mufflers. 

The walker 21470 is very interesting.  It appears most people who use them have diesels but there was one 6.0l chevy gas review.  That might be the one to try.

• Like 1

On 2/18/2023 at 4:11 PM, Randal Scott said: