If you really want to appreciate your HD...

I've had my 2500HD cc/8.1/Allison for almost a year now. Great truck. Got to order from factory and traded in my 1500 Z-71 Ext cab (another great truck). You remember that feeling you get when you step out of your old ride and in to your new ride...? Well, I've found a way to experience that feeling weekly!

Got myself a "project truck" about three weeks ago. A 1972 Chevrolet K20 4x4. It's longbed, 350 v8, 4 speed manual with air (not working), tilt, tach and a radio you can't hear at highway speeds :seeya: It's fun to drive and a great change-up from my CC.

The best part is jumping back in the '04 after driving the '72 for a few days. Really makes me appreciate the 8.1/Allison, seats, radio, DVD, comfort, quietness, speed, etc., etc., etc. It's like I get a new truck every few days...

Right on!! I have been driving a 89 S10 pickup for 16 years now. It's still runs great and actually still looks kinda new. However, when I sit my but in my new 04 2500HD CC LB 8.1 Allison, I believe the first thing you see is my sh** eatin grin coming down the road. I go from one extreme to another on a regular basis. :crackup:

04 2500HD CC LB 8.1/Allison

89 S10 Pickup 4.3

96 Astro Van 4.3

I know the feeling! I drive the 72 suburban for a change every now and then and I also daily drive my 96 Mustang GT. I love getting back in the crew cab after driving one for a while. Makes me appreciate it more.

I know what you mean, I go from a 76' C10 to my 2500 and its like night and day. No radio, A/C, etc. I don't drive my "good truck" everyday, too many idjits with no sense with their vehicles at work + Wal mart, especially in a college town. When I do drive it around I get the big grins too! Vast improvements in 25 years to the GM trucks! Yee hah! I get to drive the "good truck" home in a few minutes..... You know what really bugs me is all the money I have put into my little hot rod 76' and the dang 2000 is still quicker!