PF59 now PF61?

Just went by the local Autozone this afternoon to get some oil and filter for an oil change. I had been running the PF46 on my 04, but had decided to go with the PF59. I did a double check to see if that was the part# for 99-02 but they called for a PF61. I bought it....seems to be identical to the PF59, so what's up with the part # change? Does anyone know if this filter is "better" than the PF59? Any input appreciated.

vroten :confused:

As a GM parts manager, i can tell you that the PF59 did NOT supersede to the PF61. The PF61's are used on cads and envoy/trailblazers and are not in ANY catalogue from GM for the fullsize p/u's. The 99-middle 02's use a pf59 or pf46, and the middle 02's and up use the pf46 specifically. The PF46 had a design change in the checkvalve, and now has an anti drainback valve that, according to GM "they really need". Hope this helps....take the 61 (or whatever they sold you) back to idiot shack and get a good acdelco filter....its worth the extra money.

Read these reports for help:

http://minimopar.knizefamily.net/oilfilterstudy.html#acd-pf2

http://people.msoe.edu/~yoderw/oilfilterst...ilterstudy.html

Thanks

TONY

I got one too several months ago. I purchased a Delco PF61 at AutoZone as well. It was listed as the oil filter needed for my 99 5.3L Silverado. I wondered about it but figured that it was the NEW version. I am still running it and have since purchased a couple of PF59 filters for my next oil changes (I change my own). Wonder if I should pull the PF61 off and put a PF 59 on or just run it until time to change the oil again?

Thanks,

Fred