Do glasspacks hurt fuel economy?

Hey guys, I'm going to put a different muffler on my new truck. Can't decide what to get. The Flowmaster and Magnaflow muffs are $60-$100 and that's nuts. I noticed that you can buy a glasspack for $25. Isn't a magnaflow muffler just a perforated tube with fiberglass packing around it? If so, then what's the difference between a Magnaflow and a "glasspack"? Will a glasspack hurt my fuel economy or power? I've never used a "glasspack" before. Any advice would be appreciated.

Any kind of muffler you put on that makes your truck louder will hurt your fuel economy. You are always romping on the gas to hear it! But I've had 2 trucks with glasspacks and have never noticed any change either way with the mileage.

Hey guys, I'm going to put a different muffler on my new truck.  Can't decide what to get.  The Flowmaster and Magnaflow muffs are $60-$100 and that's nuts.  I noticed that you can buy a glasspack for $25.  Isn't a magnaflow muffler just a perforated tube with fiberglass packing around it?  If so, then what's the difference between a Magnaflow and a "glasspack"?  Will a glasspack hurt my fuel economy or power?  I've never used a "glasspack" before.  Any advice would be appreciated.

You might gain a fraction of MPG on highway (maybe) but you will take a hit on MPG and responce in town with duals and with straight through mufflers being the worse combo in this regard. On the difference, the Magna Flow has a different resontance chamber size the is "packed" and it effects the resulting sound.

Yeah I've been averaging around 16 mpg with this truck...it's blowing my mind and I don't want to loose that great mileage. But I would like to "open it up" just a little bit and get a nice performance sound out of it. Are "glass packs" really loud compared to say, a Flowmaster?