Fuel Pump

My 454 has bone crushing torque pulling a load up to 55MPH. After that I have trouble pulling an empty 20 foot box trailer. It is a 5spd standard with 410 gears in tip top shape and very lows miles. It was suggested to me by a member here that my fuel pump may not be holding pressure adequately as the RPMs go up. It does start whimping out after about 2800 RPMs when it has a load in tow. Here is the question. To buy the tool to test pressure, or to have a shop perform the test would cost more than if I just bought a new pump and a six pack of beer and swap ouit the 15 year old pump. Can I install a higher output pump than factory stock without hurting anything? The reason I ask is I may be modifying the engine if I cannot get blood from a stone and I would use the new Edelbrock port injected manifold system that requires higher pressure. I don't want to replace the pump twice. BTW, I have a chip in it, flowmaster, K&N and it has been dyno'd and the shop says the engine is running fine.