Bravada Smart Track Problem?

matt_o_70

Question

I have a 2000 Bravada that is fairly new to me. The problem that I need the most help with is the smart track is engaged at all times.

I have pulled the "4WD" fuse and test driven and can then instantly feel that the truck is now in 2WD as it should be. I do not have any MIL showing any problems but have not had it scanned for any codes.

1) Tires are well worn but are all evenly worn across the set.

2) tire pressure is correct.

3) I have done the blue autotrac transfer case fluid change already since the PO acknowledged the car did bind when making very tight parking lot turns. He was given a bit of the run around trying to get it fixed.."they all do this" etc..

I have no previous GM experience but I worked for a toyota dealer for 6 years (ASE mastertech) in my previous career. This is my first personal car new enough to be an OBD2 car so until now I have not had any reason to own a scan tool. Will the affordable scan tools allow you to see any codes that pertain to the drive line? I assume that if the encoders/speed sensors were totally bad there would be a MIL of some kind?

How sensitive are these vehicles to tire wear? I don't want to put on new tires until this problem is fixed - but it would be ironic if worn tires was the cause of these problems?

Is there a spec for allowable tire diameter variation?

looking for some insight from experienced techs who have fixed the smart track systems. 1) Is the TCCM looking at encoders in the transfer case?

2) If so are there 2 - one for each drive shaft?

3) Since it seems that the transfer case motor engages and disengages with the fuse pulled. Is it safe to say the problem is elsewhere?

4) since there are no "service AWD" or CEL is is safe to assume that the TCCM "BELIEVES" that the encoderes are working properly?

Where should I look next?

Matt

0 answers to this question

OK thanks for the schematic's and the history guys.