05 6.6L in 03 Silverado 2500 Duramax W/T Swap Questions

Hi Everyone,

I am new to the late model GM diagnostic platform, although I have been reading and absorbing all I can on the subject.  I have owned many GM vehicles, wrote EPROMs for 86-87 Grand Nationals in the early 1990s, and have owned a an C4 LT5 ZR-1 Corvette and 1997 LS1 Corvette when they came out, which I think was the first GM vehicle with the dot matrix cluster used in many other models in years to come.  I am familiar with the fundamentals of modern diagnostics, and work on Mercedes-Benz vehicles as a hobby (the only non-Domestic brand I have ever owned).  Knowing how they work, which is more complex in many ways with the anti-theft technologies built into them and control modules for anything and everything,  I had have been asked by someone to look at his truck that has been giving some issues.

It is a 2003 Silverado W/T 2500 and has had the engine changed for an unknown reason before he purchased it.  The truck has aftermarket CD Player, manual A/C (which stays on hot) and manual windows and door locks.  The engine's emissions label is from a 2005 and the PCM reports a 2005 VIN, indicating the entire engine and PCM/TCM was installed into the truck. The truck starts and runs great, however it has been exhibiting a few issues that he asked me to look at that are problematic for him: