What's the Nicest High Mileage Car?

Greg

While talking about the overall MPGs I'm getting with my 3 three vehicles (14.5 with the SD, 24 with the CTS, and nearly 33 with my son's Honda Del Sol), someone asked an interesting question: what's the nicest vehicle with really good mileage, say about 35 MPG overall? His top priorities for a new car:

- Comfortable leather interior like the CTS in both comfort and front seat dimensions. (Not too small.)

- Overall mileage in the mid-30s.

Good handling, quick acceleration, and automatic transmission are desireable, but not as important. Back seat comfort and trunk space are of little interest as this will mainly be a commuter car. Cost is also not a major concern, but anything much above $40K is probably out. He's not interested in hybrids - too much to go wrong. Suggestions in and out of the GM stable?

I am a salesman with a fairly wide territory, averaging approximately 1800 miles per week. While it's not always a 35 mpg car, I drive a '00 Monte Carlo SS when the Nebraska weather allows it (all but 4-5 days per year).

Great leg/head room, 3800 V6 gives 30-31 mpg if I keep it under 75. On days I am on all two lane, rural highways at 60-65 mph, I will hit the 35-36 mpg mark. Car has a great size trunk, even with a subwoofer and two amps. Plenty of power, great brakes. My car has a cloth interior, but leather is more plentiful on the SS. New models stay way under the $40k mark; I bought my 2000 in October 03 with 27,000 miles for $+/-$13, and now with 145,000 it still books at approximately $9,000.

New models also have turbo, and they are bringing in a new body style for 2006.

Just my opinion, but for me it's been a great car.

My Webpage

I think there has been a factory Turbo Monte.  80 and 81, two different generation G bodies.  Small bulge in the stock hood.  First Gen Buick V6 3.8L turbo underhood.